Colourful Vegan Pasta Salad

Colourful Vegan Pasta Salad

I love pasta salad.  So so much.  Just love it and could eat it all of the time.  So quick, so easy and a perfect vegan food.

Seriously though guys, I’m not sure the title of this post should have the word vegan in it.  To me, pasta salad is naturally vegan.  AND!  I might even just start a Pasta Salad category, since it’s so special with so many variations, and I eat it ALL THE TIME.  But I digress.

Wait, let’s just go on one more little tangent.  I said I love pasta salad.  Apparently it’s a family trait.  We were recently BBQing, and I was trying to come up with the menu and suggested to my Step-Mother that I was going to do pasta salad on the side, to which she responded “ohh no, your Dad doesn’t like pasta salad”, I was very deflated and immediately started to make suggestions of alternatives for him…at which point Step-Mother laughed, pointed out the whoosh sound I heard was her sarcasm going right over my head and that my Father, like me, LOVED pasta salad and could, also, eat it every night.  Success!  And recipes soon to follow, but this is not that recipe.

Pasta salad is easy, creative, and versatile.  It’s a great way to use up odds and ends you may have on hand, it’s also great to get your veggies in 😉

Colourful Vegan Pasta Salad Ingredients

cucumber, green onion, garlic, black olives, bell pepper, cherry tomatoes, garlic, tri-colour fusilli

 

The best parts about this salad is that there’s not a lot of actual cooking, just chopping and really simple and easy boxed pasta.  I love the look of this pasta, it just adds that much more of a colour pop.  To top it off it’s grab-and-go, works well for lunch for work, or as a quick supper if you get home late and don’t have many options.

 

Making Colourful Vegan Pasta Salad

 

Ingredients

Pasta Salad

  • 375g (dried) of dried pasta of your choice (I’ve used the whole box of Catelli Bistro Tri-colour vegetable fusilli)
  • 1 cup of halved cherry tomatoes
  • 1 cup of chopped cucumber
  • 2 sliced green onions
  • 1 cup of chopped bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup of sliced black olives

 

Salad Dressing

  • 1 clove of minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/8 cup of white wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp of dried oregano
  • 1 tsp of mustard

 

  1. In a large pot prepare your pasta according to the directions on the box.  And if the box doesn’t say it, remember the sage advice of Mario Batali: pasta water should always be ‘salty like the sea!’.
  2. Next make your salad dressing.  This is especially important if you’re sensitive to uncooked garlic.  In a small jar add all salad dressing ingredients, shake well for about 30 seconds then set aside.  Alternatively whisk to combine in a cup or bowl.
  3. While your pasta is cooking chop your.
  4. When your pasta is cooked, drain it well and return it to the pot.  Add in your veggies and salad dressing and mix well.

Your pasta salad can be eaten hot or cold, according to your preference, enjoy!

Colourful Vegan Pasta Salad

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

